Skip to main content
Est. read: 2 mineBay

eBay Updates Managed Payments Terms

eBay has updated its Managed Payments terms, with different effective dates for new and existing sellers.

What are the key facts?

  1. 1Updated payment terms apply to new sellers from October 21, 2026
  2. 2Existing sellers become subject to the updated terms from November 4, 2026
  3. 3The announcement did not disclose any definite increase in specific commissions or withdrawal fees

What happened?

eBay’s Payments Terms of Use page shows that the platform has updated the terms for Managed Payments. For new sellers who registered on or after October 21, 2026, or accepted the terms after that date, the updated terms take effect immediately. Other sellers already operating on the platform will be subject to the updated terms from November 4, 2026. The updated terms continue to provide that Managed Payments-related fees and expenses are based on the rate page applicable to the seller’s location. eBay may also notify sellers of term changes through Seller Hub, Message Center, or its website. The announcement did not disclose that any particular commission or withdrawal fee would necessarily increase, so the update should not be directly interpreted as a rate increase. Cross-border sellers using eBay Managed Payments need to review the terms covering payment services, refunds, dispute handling, fund settlement, and account authorization. Sellers particularly affected include those operating across multiple sites, whose business-entity location differs from their shipping location, or who use third-party payment providers and ERPs for reconciliation.

What does this mean for cross-border sellers?

eBay’s updated Managed Payments terms will apply in stages based on seller status and cover routine areas including payment services, refunds, dispute handling, fund settlement, and account authorization. The announcement did not disclose any definite increase in specific commissions or withdrawal fees; sellers should rely on the rate page for their location and platform notices to avoid misjudging cost changes.

What should sellers do now?

  1. 1This week, look for term-change notices in Seller Hub, Message Center, and on the eBay website, and separately confirm the applicable status for new sellers from October 21, 2026, and existing sellers from November 4, 2026; save page records or screenshots.AI Customer Service
  2. 2Review Managed Payments fees and expenses against the rate page for the business entity’s location, rather than applying the shipping-origin rate directly; complete a multi-site rate-check table and flag items that cannot be confirmed.Marketplace fee compare
  3. 3Check the eBay store’s processes for refunds, dispute handling, fund settlement, and account authorization, and compare each item with third-party payment and ERP reconciliation records; produce a discrepancy list and assign an owner to every item.

Source: eBay

#Rules

Compiled by the Niceggie editorial team from public reporting; translation and summary are AI-assisted.

Get the seller news brief

Marketplace policy changes, rule updates and market moves, curated and sent to your inbox.

No spam • Unsubscribe anytime